2024 University of Delaware Weinberg Center/ECGI Corporate Governance Symposium

and John L. Weinberg/IRRCi Research Paper Award Competition

SAVE THE DATE  |  March 15, 2024

Time: All day
Location: Clayton Hall, University of Delaware, Newark DE

Call for Papers

The John L. Weinberg Center for Corporate Governance and the Department of Finance at the Lerner College of Business & Economics, at the University of Delaware, will host an in-person academic symposium in collaboration with the European Corporate Governance Institute (ECGI) on Friday, March 15, 2024. We welcome all submissions related to corporate governance. Up to three papers included in the symposium will be selected to each receive the 2024 John L. Weinberg/IRRCi Research Paper Award and a $10,000 prize. Click here for the 2022 and 2023 symposium programs and award winners.

Both academic and practitioner submissions for the research paper competition are welcome.

The deadline for paper submissions is November 20, 2023. There is a non-refundable submission fee of $75 per paper. Please pay the submission fee by visiting this page. Please submit your papers to Louisa Cresson at Weinberg-corp-gov@udel.edu, together with a copy of your payment receipt.

John L. Weinberg/IRRCi Research Paper $10,000 Award Competition Guidelines/Procedures

This research competition is the successor to the IRRCi Investor Research Paper Award, which had become a prominent award garnering significant attention amongst the investment community, academia and policymakers. The John L. Weinberg/IRRCi Research Paper Award, as its predecessor did, highlights innovative research.

Papers should be submitted using the following guidelines. Failure to comply with these guidelines may disqualify papers.

  • Papers must not have been accepted for publication at the time of submission.
  • Papers should be submitted with a cover page that includes the paper title, full name and affiliation of author(s), and a 100-250-word abstract.
  • Please use the following format as the file name when you save your paper: Last name (all caps), underscore, shortened name of paper, period, pdf (e.g., DOE_Shareholder Engagement.pdf).

If selected for the award or as a finalist, it is required that one of the paper’s authors be available to present the paper in-person at the Symposium on March 15, 2024.

General inquiries regarding the competition or the Symposium should be directed to Louisa Cresson at Weinberg-corp-gov@udel.edu.

Please note that the selection of winners/finalists, if any, is at the sole discretion of the John L. Weinberg Center for Corporate Governance. The Weinberg Center fully anticipates awarding up to three $10,000 prizes but reserves the right to select no papers as winners in the event papers submitted do not meet the above guidelines and/or the Center does not believe any paper is worthy of the award.